Home

drawing: sit-in kayak

January 16, 2013

kayak-sit-in-by-al-lau

I am getting cabin fever with this rather cold winter.  Anxious for the warmer weather of spring, I am doing a series of outdoor activity-inspired drawings with my Wacom tablet. This one is of a sit-in kayak, labeling all the parts that make it characteristically a sit-in vessel.

More to come.

10 Responses to “drawing: sit-in kayak”

  1. Jessica Says:

    Your illustrations are so cool! And I love kayaking. Good, warm thoughts… And thanks for stopping by my blog. I’ll be back by yours!

  2. brixpoul Says:

    Nice one :-) Do you kayak?

    • blogturtle Says:

      Thanks Brixpoul. Yes, I do kayak. I can’t wait til it gets warmer.
      I am reading about sea kayaks, but they seem too heavy to car-top by oneself, right?
      Where do you kayak (lakes, rivers, bays)?

      • brixpoul Says:

        I like to kayak anywhere I can get away with it ;-)

        I don’t own my own kayak at the moment but is looking to get a sea kayak and do some longer trips.

        I think most sea kayaks weigh from 25-35 kg (50-70 pounds) and that can be a bit heavy to handle alone.

  3. itznu Says:

    A good kayak will roll in freezing water and weigh under 40 lbs. They are generally designed for waters that would be too dangerous or cold in a canoe. Another advantage that kayaks have over other boats is that you can sometimes surf them in on a wave. Since they are decked, it’s easier to make them strong than it is for a canoe. Since they can have decks almost parallel to the waterline, the buoyancy calculations are way easier than for a canoe or umiak. Those plastic rafts that you sit on top of are called “Kayaks” for marketing reasons. Kind of like a car that’s called a Palamino or Tornado. The association is not meant to be literal.

    • blogturtle Says:

      Good points. Don’t think I want to roll in a yak. I wonder if sea kayaks that are super thin feel constricting. So far, wider kayaks interest me because of the extra legroom. Thanks for the comment!

      • itznu Says:

        When people mention boat design specs, I get really excited and start ranting like a madman. Modern sea kayaks are designed as thin as possible (hip girth+ clothing and hull thickness) because hull to length ratio is a major factor in how much effort you will need to travel at a comfy speed. Also one must minimize surface area, and not have a boat so thin that it tips over like a rowing scull. Nobody can deal with moving a 20′ boat around, but a 5/1 hull ratio will need lots of effort to barely move because it’s too fat relative to the length. There’s lots of math and physics in boat construction. I think that learning and applying these things is one of the most enjoyable things a person can do. If you build a boat, I’d be happy to tell you all the stuff I wish someone had told me. Mebe save ya some time. I dig the drawings, btw

    • blogturtle Says:

      Yeah, Itznu. So many variables in boat shapes. I’ll have to try out different ones I guess.
      I wonder what life is like in Hawaii? It must be amazing.

      • itznu Says:

        it’s kinda hot, and everything rots in the tropics, but the snorkeling is fantastic and theres really good produce everywhere.


Leave a Reply

