Home

illustration: vw beetle

August 1, 2014

vw_beetle_and_bike_by_al_lau

The Volkswagen Beetle has come a long way from being a concept of Hitler’s in the 1930’s. Originally called the Volkswagen Type 1, it was born from the need of a cheap and simplistic car design, yet powerful enough to travel on the Autobahn.

From out of the darkness of WWII, however, the Bug is adopted as a symbol of Peace. And now, a fun way to get to your favorite activity destination. Am I starting to sound like a car commercial?

My drawing is based on the new Beetle that was re-introduced to the world in 1998 (including a cool mountain bike).

2 Responses to “illustration: vw beetle”

  1. slmann Says:

    Cool drawing. I’ve owned several VW in my life. My favorite was my first car, a 1956 black VW beetle. The last VW I owned I bought for $500 and sold it for $1500. Your drawing brought back lots of memories. – Sharon


Leave a Reply

