Home

sketch: bathroom renovation

February 21, 2013

bathroom-sketch-by-al-lau

I’m planning a bathroom renovation because it is a dated mess, from the 80’s, to be more precise. I just needed to sketch it out so that I could write down measurements, and plan accordingly.

Watching HGTV and home improvement shows are a guilty pleasure of mine. Having learned a lot from those shows, I want to do this project right.

I’ve done wood flooring and kitchen cabinets before, but I’m kind of wary of my bathroom. For example, the ventilation fan and lighting are tied together on the same dimming switch. That’s a no-no in a contractor’s world. That means breaking through drywall to get to electrical wiring. Plus, the floor creaks which means demo-ing the tile and reinforcing the sub floor. The builder who worked on my place really did a shoddy job, rushing to make a quick buck.

So before I update the bathroom, I have to fix their mistakes. Wish me luck.

4 Responses to “sketch: bathroom renovation”


  1. Very impressive skitch – look forward to seeing the finished room!
    Emma.

  2. Sam Says:

    Sounds like you’re gonna have to be Holmes on Homes! Good luck! Cool sketch too–I like how the perspective is more detailed (3-D) rather than a typical floor map.

    • blogturtle Says:

      Hey Sam.

      Glad you like my sketch. Perspective makes it easier to mark off measurements.

      I started on upgrading the ceiling fan yesterday and the bathroom already looks like a bomb went off. Yikes!

      Thanks for the compliment!


Leave a Reply

