Home

drawing: snapping turtle

August 23, 2012

There is a bumper sticker that says “I Stop for Animals” to display, warning drivers that are behind. That statement holds true in my driving. So far, I’ve stopped for deer, geese, squirrels, and a chipmunk. But my crowning achievement, this summer, was stopping before a whopper-sized snapping turtle, and saving it. It just sat in the middle of the road, thinking that its shell will protect it. Sadly, a turtle shell is not that strong. Some truckers even find pleasure in running them over.

Anyway, for my turtle, I ran out of the car and was ready to pick it up by its tail. (Warning: never pick up a snapping turtle near its head, or even its side! They can and will chomp!) But as I approached it from behind, happily, the turtle advanced to the other side of the road to avoid me catching it. No harm to either of us. Whatever works, right?

Snappy went on his merry way toward a serene lake, nearby.

My drawing is of the snapping turtle, enjoying its home in a pond.

7 Responses to “drawing: snapping turtle”

  1. Brandi Says:

    That is awesome!

  2. natymarie Says:

    I love turtles & I do stop for them! I’ve rescued 4 so far! :)


  3. WOW its a beautiful turtle:) and you had made it yourself thats more interesting. I love to draw turtles but i never tried making myself else i always tried it in graphics, but after seeing yours i am gonna try it definitely.
    Great job. Just keep it up:)

    • blogturtle Says:

      You have a clever site, How to Draw Animals!
      I will visit again and look forward to more animals :)

      Drawing is fun, especially drawing animals.

      Thank you for your comment!


Leave a Reply

